Skip to content
Dr Vanessa Ho receives the institutional Silver Athena SWAN Award

St George’s, University of London holds an institutional Silver Athena SWAN Award. The St George’s Self-Assessment Team (SAT) supports the Athena SWAN award submission process and tracks progress of our Silver Award Action Plan 2017-2021. The team is led by Dr Vanessa Ho, Dean for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion.

SAT has representation from both men and women, including staff from a range of academic and professional services roles, career stages, and life experiences. Undergraduate and postgraduate students are also represented.

The team meets regularly and reports to Diversity and Inclusion Steering Group. SAT members are also supported by Athena SWAN champions on St George’s Council, and critical friends at other universities.

SAT members

View all Close all
Full list of SAT members
  • Derek Baldwinson, Director of Quality and Partnerships

  • Dot Bennett, Director of Molecular and Clinical Science Institute

  • Summayah Beg, Vice-President of Athena SWAN student network

  • Michaela Binstead-Light, Postgraduate Officer

  • Alexa Bishop, PhD student

  • Clare Brooks, HR and D&I Committees Secretary

  • David Clark, Postdoctoral Researcher

  • Mark Cranmer, Director of Joint Research and Enterprise Services

  • Sue David, Director of Library Services

  • Caroline Davis, Director of External Relations, Communications and Marketing

  • Anna Dulic-Sills, Director of Research Operations

  • Rebecca Henry-Litteck, Learning and Development Manager

  • Vanessa Ho, Dean for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

  • Chris Huggins, Database and Research Officer

  • Holly Hughes, Research Assistant and PhD student

  • Eoin Jardine, Student Union President

  • Jenny Laws, Academic Registrar

  • Jodi Lindsay, Professor of Microbial Pathogenesis

  • Julian Ma, Director of Infection and Immunity

  • Catherine Moore, Postdoctoral Researcher

  • Tamari Nyakunengwa, President of Athena SWAN student network

  • June Phillips, Executive Officer (Vice-Chancellor's Office)
  • Jane Saffell, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

  • Elizabeth Treadwell, Senior Lecturer in Rehabilitation Sciences (FHSCE)

  • Peter Whincup, Director of Population Health Research Institute

  • Jenny Winters, Director of HR

You can hear from some of our SAT members on YouTube.

As part of our Silver Award action plan, SAT has focused on:

  • key career transition points, appointments, pay and promotions

  • career development

  • flexible working, career breaks and work-life balance

  • organisation, culture and communication

  • education and students.

For more information about the self-assessment process, or if you would like to be an observer at SAT meetings, please contact Vanessa Ho.

Find a profileSearch by A-Z