Skip to content

The research strategy - operational research plan (PDF) has been set in 2019 by the Deputy Principal (Research & Enterprise), Prof Jon Friedland to develop and enhance the university strategy of pursuing excellent and ambitious research, both responding to major and emerging healthcare challenges and delivering significant societal impact.  Our directorate is instrumental in supporting researchers in their day-to-day work and helping support delivery of St George’s strategic research aims.

Research Operations directorate in its current state was formally established in March 2021 to create capacity within the university to deliver a comprehensive research laboratory and administrative support, incorporating aspects of crucial importance for the university’s regulatory compliance.  We aim to provide an appropriate, up to date and responsive research support portfolio that is clearly articulated and helpful to academic staff whilst also addressing areas of importance for the university. We are a group of 33 staff (headcount) and are focusing on delivery of excellent support to research active staff, offering comprehensive service, with a maximum efficiency. Research Operations staff are also involved in teaching delivery.

We also embrace strong working relationships with other directorates within the university, offering a more cohesive approach to supporting researchers and an environment in which research can thrive.

People

View all Close all
Administration
Head of Administration and Executive Officer to the Deputy Principal (R&E)

Profile: Cheryl Watson

Email: cwatson@sgul.ac.uk

Administrative Officer (general administration)

Profile: Tara Nasreen

Email: tnasreen@sgul.ac.uk

Administrative Assistant (general administration)

Profile: Jenay Thomas

Administrative Assistant (general administration)

Profile: Stefanina Sawyer

Email: ssawyer@sgul.ac.uk

Administrative Assistant (general administration) 

Profile: Kathleen Costello

Email: kcostell@sgul.ac.uk

Administrative Officer (Events, Communications and GAT)

Profile: Yvonne Forde

Email: yforde@sgul.ac.uk

Administrative Assistant (Events, Communications and GAT) 

Profile: Angela Mason

Email: amason@sgul.ac.uk

Administrative Assistant (Events, Communications and GAT)

Profile: Ifrah Ali

Email: iali@sgul.ac.uk

Administrative Officer (Finance and Purchasing)

Profile: Dorota Smith

Email: dosmith@sgul.ac.uk

Purchaser

Profile: Nathalie Fayers

Email: nfayers@sgul.ac.uk

Administrative Assistant (Finance and Travel)

Vacant

Biological Research Facility (BRF)
Head of BRF

Vacant

Assistant Head of BRF

Vacant

BRF Technician

Profile: Rene Ocho

Email: rocho@sgul.ac.uk 

Phone: x55400

Animal Technician

Profile: Louise Lincoln

Email: llincoln@sgul.ac.uk

Image Resource Facility (IRF)
Head of IRF 

Profile: Sandra Ashton

Email: sashton@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x55218

IRF Microscopy Manager

Profile: Gregory Perry

Email: gperry@sgul.ac.uk 

Phone: x55218

Senior Technician

Profile: Isabelle Crevel

Email: icrevel@sgul.ac.uk 

Phone: x51453

Leadership
A picture of Sandra AshtonHead of IRF 

Profile: Sandra Ashton

Email: sashton@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x55218

A picture of Anna Dulic-SillsDirector of Research Operations
Profile: Anna Dulic-Sills

Email: adulic-s@sgul.ac.uk 

Phone:  x55907

A picture of Penelope LympanyHead of Laboratory Services

Profile: Penny Lympany

Email: plympany@sgul.ac.uk

 Phone: x51603

A picture of Ariel Polandri.Head of Research Space and Safety

Profile: Ariel Poliandri

Email: apoliand@sgul.ac.uk

 Phone: x55038

A picture of Cheryl WatsonHead of Administration and Executive Officer to Deputy Principal (R & E)

Profile: Cheryl Watson

Email: cwatson@sgul.ac.uk

Laboratory services
Head of Laboratory Services

Profile: Penny Lympany

Email: plympany@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x51603

Laboratory Manager

Profile: Ashraf Sameja

Email: asameja@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x52428

Senior Technician

Profile: Michael Lacey

Email: mlacey@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x55791

Technician 

Profile: Sadaf Rashid

Email: srashid@sgul.ac.uk 

Technical Assistant

Profile: Michael O’Reilly

Email: moreilly@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x50139

Technical Assistant

Profile: Gavin Linkson

Email: glinkson@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x50139

Research Institute Managers
Research Institute Manager - Molecular and Clinical Sciences Research Institute

Vacant

Research Institute Manager – Infection and Immunity Research Institute

Profile: Melanie Monteiro

Email: mmonteir@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x55488

Research Institute Manager – Population Health Research Institute

Profile: Thuy Vuong

qvuong@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x55601

Research Space and Safety
Head of Research Space and Safety

Profile: Ariel Poliandri

Email: apoliand@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x55038

Laboratory Manager

Profile: Yvette Bland

Email: ybland@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x53077

Senior Technician

Profile: Lauren Terry

Email: lterry@sgul.ac.uk 

Technician 

Profile: Adetola Adeyemi

Email: aadeyemi@sgul.ac.uk

Phone: x55035

Resources and more information

View all Close all
Mission and vision

Mission: We provide a highly skilled and diverse administrative, technical and specialist expertise, to facilitate and provide the environment, in which research can thrive, aided by our team of passionate research operations staff. 

Vision: To deliver high quality, proactive, flexible and continuous ongoing support,  to our research community
Organogram

 

Find a profileSearch by A-Z