Skip to content

Erlick Pereira

Reader in Neurosurgery
Mr Pereira is Director of Functional Neurosurgery and heads the Neuromodulation Group

Mr Pereira leads the Neuromodulation Group at St George's.  Clinically he directs the functional neurosurgery service which he founded in 2016.  He is in charge of undergraduate and postgraduate neurosurgery teaching and training.

Fellow of The Royal College of Surgeons of England

Senior Fellow of The Higher Education Academy

Hunterian Professor of the Royal College of Surgeons

Affiliated Professor, University of Porto

Baber Scholar, Somerville College, University of Oxford

Senior Scholar, Trinity College, University of Cambridge

Deep brain stimulation and radiofrequency lesioning for movement disorders and chronic pain and spinal cord stimulation for chronic pain are clinical treatments that enable electrical stimulation and direct electrical recording from deep within the human brain and spine.  In the Neuromodulation group we use these invasive therapeutic tools combined with non-invasive physiological techniques, psychological methods, computerised tomography and magnetic resonance imaging to further our fundamental understanding of how the brain and spine integrate sensation with movement, cognition and emotion towards innovative and improved neurosurgical treatments.  Conditions studied include Parkinson’s disease, dystonia, tremor, cervical myelopathy, spinal cord injury and chronic pain including cancer pain.

UK Medical Research Council (MRC)


Boston Scientific


Neurosciences Research Foundation

Group members:

Dr Fahd Baig, Oxford MRC Clinical Research Fellow in Neurology

Mr Abteen Mostofi, NIHR Academy Clinical Lecturer in Neurosurgery

Dr Victoria Wallace, Honorary Clinical Research Fellow in Neurology

Dr Ali-Rezaei Haddad, Honorary Clinical Research Fellow in Neurosurgery

Ms Kathryn Dennies, Honorary Clinical Research Assistant in Podiatry


St George's Collaborators:

Dr Francesca Morgante, Reader in Neurology

Dr Lucia Ricciardi, MRC Fellow and Senior Lecturer in Neurology

Prof Mark Edwards, Professor of Neurology

Prof Franklyn Howe, Professor of MR physics

Dr Tom Barrick, Reader in MR physics 


External collaborators:

Prof Peter Brown, University of Oxford

Prof Tim Deninson, University of Oxford

Dr Huiling Tan, University of Oxford

Dr Ravi Vaidyanathan, Imperial College London

Ass. Prof Simon Little, University College San Francisco

Ass. Prof James Fitzgerald, University of Oxford

Ass. Prof Alex Green, University of Oxford

Prof Tipu Aziz University of Oxford

Dr Shouyan Wang, Fudan University Shanghai

Lead for postgraduate neurosurgery teaching

Lead for undergraduate neurosurgery teaching

BSc biomedical sciences neurosciences module

Medicine SSC

MSc / MRes



Find a profileSearch by A-Z