Skip to content

Jenner Day is a yearly celebration of infection and immunity research in honour of one of St George’s most famous alumni, the vaccinologist Edward Jenner.

At each meeting, investigators from the Institute for Infection and Immunity at St George’s welcome friends and colleagues from across London, particularly from our major research partners (St George’s University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine), other universities, Public Health England, the National Institute of Biological Standards and Controls, the Pirbright Institute, and the Animal and Plant Health Agency.

Presentations from researchers at St George’s and invited colleagues cover a range of topics in academic and clinical sciences. These presentations feature work on major human bacterial, viral, parasitic and fungal pathogens and highlight our range of research interests; from molecular biology to systems biology, and from diagnostics to therapy.

A highpoint of each meeting is the keynote Jenner Lecture, given by a distinguished speaker, whose work has had a major global health impact.

Jenner Day 2021

The Jenner Day 2021 Symposium will be held on Wednesday 20 October 2021 from 2pm to 6pm.

The Jenner Lecture (5pm to 6pm) will be given by Professor Sir Andrew Pollard, University of Oxford. The lecture title is Making vaccines for the world in less than a year.

Find out more about this year's event by clicking on the item below.

If you would like to receive information about this event, please register your interest with Julian Ma.

Previous Jenner Day lecturers

View all Close all
Full list of lecturers from previous years
  • 2020: Professor Stewart Cole, Institute Pasteur
  • 2019: Sir Brian Greenwood, LSHTM

  • 2018: Professor Dennis Burton, Scripps Research, Ragon Institute, USA

  • 2017 – Professor Sharon Peacock, Sanger Institute/LSHTM

  • 2016: Dr Marie-Paule Kieny, World Health Organization

  • 2015: Professor Antonio Lanzavecchia, ETH Zurich

  • 2014: Professor Robin Weiss, University College London

  • 2013: Professor Tom Blundell, University of Cambridge

  • 2012: Professor Arturo Casadevall, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

  • 2011: Professor Philippe Sansonetti, College de France and
    Institut Pasteur

  • 2010: Professor Sir Mark Walport, The Wellcome Trust

  • 2009: Professor Myron M Levine, University of Maryland School of Medicine.


Find a profileSearch by A-Z