Skip to content

St George’s Awards and Principal’s Prizes for Education Excellence 2020-21

These Awards and Prizes are designed to recognise and celebrate at institutional level the contributions made by individuals and teams to the enhancement of students’ educational experience at St George’s. They recognise excellence and endeavour in all the dimensions of education, from teaching and course design to learner support, supervision and resources development. They are intended to encourage inquiring, reflective and evidence-informed approaches to educational excellence, including a commitment to inclusive practice. The Team Awards acknowledge the fact that achieving positive educational change and outcomes is often the result of collaborative effort across teams of people, including students. Teams are not always formally constituted and can include people from different areas and with different roles, collaborating together to enhance students’ educational experience.

Awards: Up to 10 awards will be made across St George’s: the four Institutes – Molecular and Clinical Sciences, Infection and Immunology, Population Health, and Medical and Biomedical Education, the Centre for Allied Health and others who teach and support St George’s students within the Faculty of Health, Social Care and Education and within Professional Services.

Please note: Previous award-winners are not eligible to make a fresh application within three years of winning the award (so a 2019-20 winner can not reapply until 2022-23). However, previous Individual Award winners can apply as part of a team, or members of a previous award-winning team can apply as individuals.

St George’s Individual Award winners will receive £200

St George’s Team Award winners will receive up to £1000 (depending on the size of team).

Prizes:  From the Award winners, where there is exceptional contribution to excellence and enhancement and strong potential for transferability and wider impact, Principal’s Prizes mayalso be awarded. Principal’s Prizes will be an additional £200 for individuals and £500 for teams.

Award and Prize money should be used for educational development and research activity. 


All staff - academic and professional services, part- or full-time - are eligible to apply, as individuals or within teams. Applications should be on the basis of a nomination or nominations from a fellow staff member, student or student group.


Applications should be made by the individual or team using the forms downloadable from this page. Applications are made on the basis of self-nomination, or nomination by other another staff member, or by individual or groups of students. The nominator is required to write a short account of their reasons for making the nomination and this is included in the form.  A statement of support from the Head of the relevant Institute, Faculty or Directorate is also required.  We also ask for the names of up to three students who can endorse the work described in the application.


Award decisions are made by a panel chaired by the Deputy Principal (Education) and consisting of:  Dean for Students, Associate Director of Information Services (Library and Learning Services), Associate Dean for Access and Participation, Associate Dean for Student Experience,  FHSCE Associate Dean for Learning and Teaching, Head of Centre for innovation and Development in Education, Head of Centre for Technology in Education, Director of PGCert Healthcare and Biomedical Education.


Individual application form 2021

Team application form 2021

Applications should be submitted to: no later than 5pm on Wednesday 5 May 2021.

If you have any questions please contact:

Awards winners 2020

View all Close all
Education Excellence Awards

  • Student-centred Teaching and Welfare: Professor Anthony Albert, Institute of Molecular & Clinical Sciences
  • Research-inspired Teaching and Learning: Dr Alexis Bailey, Centre for Biomedical Science in IMBE
  • Leadership and Innovation in Assessment: Dr James Buckley, Centre for Biomedical Education in IMBE
  • Careers Development Education: Dr Androulla Elia, Centre for Biomedical Education in IMBE
  • Programme Leadership: Julie Hendry, Department of Radiography, FHSCE
  • Assessment Innovation and Enhancement: Andrew Hitchings, Centre for Clinical Education in IMBE
  • Clinical Teaching and Simulation in Paramedic Science: David Parr, Department of Paramedic Science, FHSCE
  • Leadership of the Student Voice: Beth Ward, Vice-President for Education and Welfare, Student Union
  • Collaborative Programme Design and Innovation: Clinical Pharmacology development team — Professors Emma Baker and Iain Greenwood, Bryony Williams (CTiE), Errol Lobo, and Drs Mark Preece, Jennifer Stott, Dagan Lonsdale, Christopher Threapleton, Catrin Page, and Moyo Kuku
  • Curriculum Design, for the module “Primary Care: Complexity and Diversity”: Drs Emma Metters and Nicola Buxton, Centre for Clinical Education in IMBE
Principal's Prize
Two Principal’s Prizes were awarded: one to Dr James Buckley, for Outstanding Contribution to Education, and the other for Staff-Student Partnership in Inclusive Teaching and Learning to a Centre for Clinical Education team: Shehla Baig, Pedro Elston, Margot Turner, Peter Tamony, and Robert Nagaj, together with students Adrian Crawford, Malone Mukwende, and Jonathan Tugbobo for their collaborative work across two inclusive curriculum projects.


Find a profileSearch by A-Z